Past events

16th Congress of ESBRA (October 8th – 11th 2017) Crete, Greece

The Manfred Lautenschläger Award Winner 2017 is Prof. Dr. Rainer Spanagel (Germany)


The Nordmann Award Winner 2016 is Lucia Hipolito (Spain)

Philippe DeWitte, Lucia Hipolito


NIH Postdoctoral Fellowships in Addiction Research

The National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA), Division of Intramural Clinical and Biological Research, and The National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA), Intramural Research Program, Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS), is recruiting for post-doctoral fellows (MD and/or PhD) to conduct research in the Section on Clinical Psychoneuroendocrinology and Neuropsychopharmacology (CPN) located in the Mark O Hatfield Clinical Research Center on the main NIH campus in Bethesda, MD. The laboratory conducts clinical and translational inpatient and outpatient studies employing state-of- the-art bio behavioral, neuroimaging and pharmacological procedures to identify possible novel medications for addictions.

A special emphasis of the CPN Section is on the possible role of gut-liver-brain axis in alcohol seeking behaviors. Specifically, Dr. Leggio and team are investigating the potential role of feeding related pathways such as ghrelin, leptin, oxytocin, GLP-1 and the role of the gut microbiome. Preclinical and human approaches are under development in our quest to unravel the possible role of these pathways in alcohol use disorder.

Candidates (M.D., Ph.D. and/or Pharm.D.) should have a strong background and interest in translational and clinical addiction pharmacology. In addition, strong verbal and written communication skills are essential. Candidates must have less than 5 years of post-doctoral training. Salary will be set commensurate with experience and accomplishments. Interested candidates should apply by submitting a current C.V. and bibliography, a brief statement of research accomplishments and interests, along with 3 reference contacts.

Applications may be submitted electronically or by mail to:

Lorenzo Leggio, M.D., Ph.D., M.Sc.
Clinical Investigator, NIAAA & NIDA
Chief, Section on Clinical Psychoneuroendocrinology and Neuropsychopharmacology (CPN)
Associate Director for Clinical Research, NIDA IRP Medication Development Program
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA)
10 Center Drive (10CRC/1-5330) MSC 1108; Room 1-5429
Bethesda, MD20892-1108
(301) 435-9398 – phone
National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA)
Intramural Research Program (IRP)
251 Bayview Blvd.; Room 01A840
Baltimore, MD21224
(443) 740-2293 – phone

Refer to this website for additional Information:


The founder president of ESBRA Prof. Roger Nordmann passed away

We are sorry to inform about the sad news, that on Friday the 24th of January, Professor Roger Nordmann, the Founder President of ESBRA passed away following a sudden heart stroke.

Professor Roger Nordmann was our first president, member of the French Academy of Medicine, Emeritus Professor of the Université René Descartes, Officier de la Légion d’Honneur et Officier de l’Ordre des Palmes Académiques.

He was also Board Member of ISBRA.

Without his tireless energy ESBRA would not exist in such a wellfare shape !


14th Congress of ESBRA (September 8th – 11th 2013) Warsaw, Poland

ESBRA celebratet ist 25th anniversary in Warsaw. The Awardees of this years conference:

The Manfred Lautenschläger Award Winner 2013 is Prof. Helmut Seitz

Helmut Seitz

Lifetime Achievment Award for Prof. Roger Nordmann, the Founder President of ESBRA

from left to right; Roger Nordmann, Helmut Seitz

The poster prize Awardees

from left to right: Giancarlo Colombo, Pierre Maurage, Sebastian Mueller, Paola Maccioni, Carolina L. Haass-Koffler

The Young Investigators Award Winners:

Magdalena Sikora, Agnieszka Kałwa, Michael Way, Aleksandra Suchanecka, Svetlana Anisimova,


2. Alcohol and Cancer Congress, May 11th – 15th 2013, Breckenridge, Colorado, USA

The second conference on Alcohol and Cancer (1. Conference was held in Heidelberg,
September 2010) was organized by Dr. Vasilis Vasilou, Anna Mae Diehl, Mikko
Salaspuro, Helmut K. Seitz and Samir Zakhari with the support of ESBRA, ISBRA
and NIAAA. International specialists on alcohol toxicity and carcinogenesis
discussed during a three-day-conference in Breckenridge, Colorado, new trends
and aspects of alcohol mediated cancer development. Various mechanisms
including acetaldehyde toxicity and oxidative stress are in the centre of
interest. While more data with respect to liver cancer and cancer of the upper
aerodigestive tract appeared, mechanisms for alcohol associated breast cancer
and colorectal cancer are still unclear. However, it seems that additional genetic
factors may be of great importance. The conference will be summarized by a
forthcoming book, more details can be found under
A third conference is planned for 2015 in Greece.


ESBRA Nordmann Award Meeting 2012 in Basel, Switzerland

The ESBRA Nordmann Award winner and the Young Investogators Award Winners 2012

From left to right: Helmut Karl Seitz (president of ESBRA) Gerhard Wiesbeck , Anna Wnorowska,
Aleksandra Topolewska-Wochowska, Giancarlo Colombo (vize-president of ESBRA), Angela Attwood, Antti Latvala, Elisabet Jerlhag Holm (ESBRA Nordmann Award winner 2012), Joaquim Fernadez-Sola (secretary of ESBRA), Maciej Goniewicz

13th ESBRA Congress 2011

Lautenschläger Award winner 2011 is Prof. Consuelo Guerri: from left to right: Manfred Lautenschläger, Consuelo Guerri, Helmut Seitz


Peter Berner Awardee Tomas Zima with Otto Lesch


from left to right: Otto Lesch, Helmut Seitz, Consuelo Guerri, Manfred Lautenschläger, Tomas Zima, Roger Nordmann

September 2010: ESBRA Nordmann Award Meeting in Heidelberg

ESBRA Nordmann Award Winner PD Dr. Thomas Hillemacher & Prof. Seitz

Comments are closed.