Awards and Grants

Young Investigator Awards and Symposium 2017

The scientific program of the 16th Congress of ESBRA will include a Young Investigator Symposium, giving the opportunity to four European young investigators to present their scientific work.

Applicants should be under 36 years of age at the time of the Congress. Their presentation may cover any aspect (preclinical, clinical, epidemiology, etc.) of alcohol and alcoholism biomedical Research.The applications will be evaluated by a Selection Committee composed by members of the ESBRA Board and members of the local Organizing Committee. Selected speakers will receive a 500 euros contribution for travel/living expenses and their Conference registration fee will also be waive

Applicants Need to submit their CV and an extended abstract of the presentation (1-2 pages). The deadline for application is the 30th of June 2017.

Please send all application to:

ESBRA Central Office
Mag. Dr.Anita Riegler
Phone: +43-676-6430320, e-mail: office[at]


Manfred Lautenschläger – European Alcohol Research Award 2017

The Manfred Lautenschläger Award of 10.000 Euros donated by Mr. Manfred Lautenschläger, Heidelberg, Germany, will be granted by ESBRA again in 2017. It has been awarded every second year from 2007 up to 2015. year at the Congress of ESBRA. The Award will be granted to a well-established alcohol researcher who has contributed strongly to the understanding of alcohol-related and alcohol-associated diseases or the development of treatment strategies in alcohol-associated diseases.

The recipient of the Award must have devoted most of his academic and research career to alcohol research. Please mind that the submission must include information about the research project(s), as the award is intended to support a research project.

The first four awardees of the European Alcohol Research Awards were:

  • 2007: Prof. Mikko Salaspuro (Finland)
  • 2009: Prof. Otto Lesch (Austria)
  • 2011: Prof. Consuelo Guerri (Spain)
  • 2013: Prof. Helmut Karl Seitz (Germany)
  • 2015: Prof. Philippe DeWitte (Belgium)

The Sixth Award will be granted at the 16th ESBRA Congress in 2017 on Crete (Greece).

The deadline for application is the 31st of August 2017.

Please send all application to:

ESBRA Central Office
Mag. Dr.Anita Riegler
Phone: +43-676-6430320, e-mail: office[at]


ESBRA Nordmann Award 2016

The European Society for Biomedical Research on Alcoholism (ESBRA) is pleased to introduce the 2016 ESBRA-Nordmann Award to a young scientist for significant scientific contribution to biomedical research on alcoholism. The applicant should be a European scientist under the age of 35, whose past and present work is mostly based in European institutions. Furthermore the application has to be recommended by a letter from an ESBRA member.

In 2016, the award will consist of 3.000 Euro, and will be delivered during a symposium organized under the auspices of ESBRA during the World Congress on Alcohol and Alcoholism, a joint meeting of the International Socie­ty of Biomedical Research on Alcoholism (ISBRA) and the European Society for Biomedical Research on Alcoholism (ESBRA). The Congress will be held in Berlin from September 2nd-5th, 2016. 2016.

For the ESBRA-NORDMANN AWARD each submission shall include:

  • The curriculum vitae of the applicant, including a list of his/her published articles.
  • His/her most significant publications.
  • An original text of 5 pages maximum representing either unpublished data or a synthesis of already published results.

The deadline for the receipt of Submission has been Extended to the  25th of July 2016!

All applications must be sent to the ESBRA Central Office.

e-mail: office[at]

phone: +43-676-6430320


Big Honour for ESBRA President

During the 15th Worldcongress of ISBRA (International Society for Biomedical Research on Alcoholism) in Paris the Hiromasa Ishii Award was given to Prof. Helmut Seitz from the University of Heidelberg.

The prize is named after the japanese gastroenterologist Prof. Hiromasa Ishii, who has died in March 2010 and is given to an internationally acknowledged gastroenterologist and hepatologist. Prof. Seitz has received this honouring award for his work on the pathophysiology of alcoholic liver disease and alcohol related carcinogenesis. He is the director of the Alcohol Research Center of the University of Heidelberg und medical director of the Hospital  Salem and the Hospital Vincentius in Heidelberg.


Comments are closed.