ESBRA Nordmann award

The European Society for Biomedical Research on Alcoholism (ESBRA) gives the ESBRA-Nordmann Award to a young scientist for significant scientific contribution to biomedical research on alcoholism. The applicant should be a European researcher, maximum in the 10th year after obtaining a PhD (with time allowed for parental leave in line with EU standards – 1.5 years per child for mothers and respective time taken off for fathers), who has undertaken most of the research in European institutions. The application has to be recommended by a letter from an active ESBRA member.

The award will consist of 3.000 Euro, and will be granted during the ESBRA Nordmann Award Meeting.

What to include in the application:
• Curriculum vitae, including a list of his/her published articles.
• List of most significant publications.
• An original text of 5 pages maximum representing a synthesis of already published results and ongoing projects

The next Nordmann award will be presented during the 19th ESBRA Biannual Meeting 2023 (31 August – 03 September 2023) in Graz, Austria.

The deadline for the submission of applications is the 31st of March 2023!
Applications should be sent to


2023: Sophie Leclercq (Belgium)
2020: Patrick Bach (Germany)
2018: Olli Kärkkäinen (Finland)
2016: Lucia Hipolito (Spain)
2014: Annemarie Heberlein (Germany)
2012: Elisabet Jerlhag Holm (Sweden)
2010: Thomas Hillemacher (Germany)
2008: Lorenzo Leggio (Italy/USA)
2006: Erika Roman (Sweden)
2004: Felix Stickel (Switzerland)
2002: Abdelkader Dahchour (Belgium)
2000: Nils Homann (Germany)
1998: Odin Vander Stelt (The Netherlands)
1997: Kalle Jokelainen (Finland) and Bertrand Nalpas (France)
1996: Giancarlo Colombo (Italy)
1994: Lena Gustavsson (Sweden)
1992: Anders Helander (Sweden)
1990: Richard Lister (UK / USA)